Final Outcomes

I’m happy with the over all outcome and my response to the brief. This has been one of the most challenging briefs but I have enjoyed it thoroughly, as I have felt that I have learnt so much. It was apparent how much research was needed and how crucial the idea and concept stage was in relation to the design. Of course the design has been important, but the workshops have shown me different ways of thinking. Beginning the project with a group was also beneficial, especially at the research and ideation process, as it aloud us to form discussions and expand our creative thinking. I also really enjoyed having a mentor, Charlotte really helped at the beginning of the project as she gave us lots of idea’s on how to approach the brief and get passed creative block. The weekly meetings with her were also useful to discuss idea’s and whether they were functional and innovative. I really liked the fact that there were a range of different health briefs, as the workshops were useful and applied to each group. I was also very happy with our client, I loved the brief and was so happy with the feedback they gave and the support we had throughout.

I am glad that I decided to target family and friends of people with aphasia as I do think that this can help with the recovery process. I am also please that I focused on the idea of a journey through thinking time as I think that this reinforces the fact that people with aphasia’s intelligence is still the same, but communication may just take slightly longer. Dealing with empathetic design ha really shown me the importance of understanding the people you are communicating with and what effects design can have on people. When receiving feedback from the clients it was very reassuring to hear that they liked the target audience I focused on and the idea and concept. They thought that this could actually be an effective form of communication and recovery. The clients also really liked the interactivity and quality of the prototype. These were two other things that I think worked well although I wish that I presented these slightly better as I don’t think think I did this to my full potential, due to nerves.

I think that the visual consistency throughout creates a strong identity of Thinking Time. If I were to do it again, I would allow more time for printing and getting materials together to make the interactive box. This would make a more consistent shade of blue and orange to look more professional. The prototype is also too big, I had planned that it would be smaller and more compact, although due to time and materials this was not possible. I do think that the navigation of the thinking box has been well thought out. The pocket in the lid guides the user to read the leaflet first to educate them on how to communicate effectively. And the different levels within the box makes it more interactive and organised. By providing a range of different interactive elements gives the users a wider choice of communication equipment. This is important as some implements may be more useful than others, as each person with aphasia has their own individual experience. I think that this idea shows the versatility and adaptability which can create an effective form of communication.

Thinking Time Interactive Box

Educational Leaflet

Flashcards

Cue Card

White Board

16.jpg

Stress Ball

15.jpg

Leave a comment