Pan’s Labyrinth

Pan’s Labyrinth was made in 2004 but set in Spain 1944 after the Spanish civil war ended. I think the concept of this film is very interesting by the way that children fantasy is combined with the political and fascist Spain at that time. By the advertising material I was expecting a children’s fairytale although it has a much more dark and serious story line. The strong visuals in the film really engage you and I find that this film has helped me understand more about what it was like around the time of the Spanish civil war. I have found it difficult to watch documentary’s on the Spanish civil war as they do not interest me, where as this film grabs my attention which has made me find the Spanish civil war more interesting.

pan's labyrinth.jpg

Leave a Reply

