Designboom

Designboom is a digital magazine which was the worlds first web-based architecture and design magazine which was founded in 1999. Designboom is based in New York, Milan and Beijing and has over 450,000 subscribers. I felt that it was necessary to research into Designboom so I had more of an insight into the client. This will help me identify the house style of the company which will hep influence my designs.

designboom

The Designboom logo is quite a geometric font, therefore I started experimenting with geometric shapes which anchors the typeface style. Although as I have started designing the front cover first and as I haven’t started designing the double page spreads yet I have found it difficult to decide on a cover. Therefore I decided to start designing the double page spreads next so I can develop my front covers to suit the style of the printed ephemera.

front cover sketches.jpg

designboom front cover first tests.jpg

I started to sketch out layout designs for my double page spread and began to take it to screen. I found it difficult to sketch my layouts then start to design it on InDesign as each designer has a different amount of text. We had a tutorial with Neil on Monday who suggested that I work on Jessica Walsh’s double page spread first as she has the most amount of text.

eike konig sketches.jpg

eike konig layout tests.jpgI have started to experiment with Jessica Walsh’s double page spread, I have found this challenging because of the amount of text that I have to fit in along with the image. I originally chose the typeface ‘Helvetica’ with the point size 9 although that did not fit in the text boxes. I did not want to downsize the point size as it would be too small, I then tried ‘Gill Sans’ as this is still a sans serif which works well with a large amount of text and is a smaller typeface with a shorter x-height. Because of the amount of body text, I have found it difficult to emphasise the element of ‘play’ in the design although by merging ‘Jessica Walsh’ with the image and beneath the body text this saves space but also looks visually aesthetic. In some of the pieces I have added lines along the page, because of the amount of body text this creates space and breaks up the page which I like as well as leading your eye throughout the piece. I will carry on experimenting these ideas with the other designers to see how these elements will visually bring together the printed ephemera.

jessica-walsh-layout-designs

img_3022

I had a tutorial with David on Friday and showed him all of my experiments so far, he gave me really positive feedback and suggested that I experimented further with Eike Konig as he liked a previous test that I had tried, Morag Myserscough and trying to put Oded Ezer on one page as he has the smallest amount of text. David told me to pay closer attention to some type detailing as I have a few widows and orphans.

deign boom double page spreads tests.jpg

designboom-tests

David pointed out his favourite front covers which I tried previously although I needed to think more carefully about hierarchy as ‘Super Seven’ is more important than ‘Designboom’. Therefore I have began to experiment further with these elements. He also suggested to try a different font, I have tried ‘Helevtica’ as it is a sans serif font which is quite neutral and striking, but it is a bigger font than ‘gill sans’ so I think it works well as large text.

front-cover-design-boom-tests

These are my final two designs and mock up booklets that I will take to my tutorial tomorrow so I can get further feedback before we hand in our designboom printed ephemera. I think that these designs show a clear consistency throughout.

leaflet 1.jpg

leaflet 2.jpg

leaflet 1 mock up.jpg

leaflet 2 mock up.jpg

Final designboom booklet

For my final design I have reflected back on my research, sketches and experiments to see what elements I like from each trial. I liked the front cover with the separate letters in each column although when I looked at the design I instantly saw the work ‘seen’ going vertically down, rather than reading ‘super seven’ left to right. Therefore because of this I decided to put a hyphen in between the ‘super seven’ so it is easier to read.

I like the way that on previous tests I put the title of ‘Eike Konig’ over the top of the image, I think that this works well with hierarchy. When I put the name of the designer behind the writing it was quite difficult to see so I decided to use the same technique I have used for Eike Konig for all the designers so this design is consistent throughout. Along each side of the images I have created a tab with the information on the times of their events and where it is being held. I think this works better than when I had it at the bottom right as there is more space and isn’t squished together in the bottom corner.

The way that I have used a line around the photo, name of the designer, information about the designer and what time their event is separates this from the interview. This works well with the hierarchy in the piece and creates space which I like as in some of the pages such as ‘Jessica Walsh’ there is so much text it needs space to break the text up.

I have made the grey text darker as when I printed it before it was too light. For the back page I decided to align the text top left and bottom right as it balances the page out and also when I tried the centre aligned text I don’t think it visually looked as strong.

In the brief it stated that we needed to print onto coloured paper, therefore I decided to print onto a pastel pink paper as anything too dark would make the text hard to read. I bound the book with red thread as this went well with the pink paper. Unfortunately I was in a&e on Wednesday so unable to make the presentation, I handed in my booklet but forgot to take a photo so do not have a photograph of the finished outcome. When we go back to uni after the Christmas break I will take a photo and upload it to my blog.

I really enjoyed this project as we were able to combine what we have learnt about layout, typography, image and narrative together to create a piece of printed ephemera. I have found certain aspects of this project challenging, for example the amount of text we were given for Jessica Walsh in contrast to Eike Konig. Trying to experiment with the element of ‘play’ with the amount of text Jessica had whilst trying to keep the rest of the booklet consistent was difficult. Although I think I over came these challenges and managed to create a successful piece of printed ephemera.

final designboom booklet blog.jpg

Leave a Reply

